An example of computing the CPM:
- Total cost for running the ad is $15,000.
- The total audience is 2,400,000 people.
- CPM is calculated as CPM = ($15,000/2,400,000)*1000 = $6.25
Examples
- In online advertising, if a website sells banner ads for a $20 CPM, that means it costs $20 to show the banner on 1000 page views.
- While the Super Bowl has the highest per-spot ad cost in the United States, it also has the most television viewers annually. Consequently, its CPM may be comparable to a less expensive spot aired during standard programming.
Effective cost per mille
Effective cost per mille (eCPM) is used to measure the effectiveness of a publisher's inventory being sold (by the publisher) via a CPA, CPC, or CPT basis. In other words, the eCPM tells the publisher what they would have received if they sold the advertising inventory on a CPM basis (instead of a CPA, CPC, or CPT basis). This information can be used to compare revenue across channels that may have widely varying traffic - by figuring the earnings per thousand.Example:
- There are two banners: "Super Apps" and "Fantastic Apps".
- The publishers earn $1 per click.
- Both banners were published for the duration of one week.
- "Super Apps" was viewed by 2000 visitors from which 10 clicked on it.
- "Fantastic Apps" was viewed by 2000 visitors from which 50 clicked on it.
- "Super Apps" has an eCPM of $5 ($10/2000 * 1000)
- "Fantastic Apps" has an eCPM of $25 ($50/2000 * 1000)